Dr Dieter Steinkamp is the “energy manager of the year 2016”

Dr Dieter Steinkamp, Chairman of the Board of RheinEnergie AG, has been awarded the title “energy manager of the year 2016” by an awards committee of high-ranking representatives from the world of business, science and media. Dr Steinkamp was particularly commended for the entrepreneurial spirit he showed by investing into the energy transition with the construction of a new, state-of-the-art gas and steam turbine in the Niehl district of Cologne, while continuing the large-scale expansion of renewable energy sources at the same time.

“RheinEnergie intends to invest EUR 300 million into renewable energy by 2020. In response to the ever more difficult framework conditions in the ‘core business’, Dieter Steinkamp exploits new business areas such as energy services for large-scale customers,” emphasises Michael Ebling, president of VKU (Verband kommunaler Unternehmen e.V. – German Association of Local Utilities) and member of the awards committee.

Christian Held, partner at BBH and also member of the awards committee, takes a similar view: “Not to shy away from the challenges one is faced with, but to take them on as an opportunity is the motto of many managers. Dieter Steinkamp has been living up to it for years. He embodies continuity in a changing world and is one of the people who help shaping the profound transition of the energy industry – in a positive manner.”

“Safeguarding a company’s profitability and simultaneously developing business models that are viable in the future is a highly demanding task and Dieter Steinkamp’s management in this respect is exemplary,” states Christof Spangenberg, managing director of K.Group, when asked why he voted for Dieter Steinkamp.

In his first comment on being awarded the title ‘energy manager of the year’, Dieter Steinkamp says: “This award confirms our corporate strategy, keeping the balance between investing first and foremost into climate protection in the heat sector, into a reliable infrastructure for energy generation and also into expanding renewable energy capacities.”

And Steinkamp remains humble amid the praise: “Someone is always on the look-out for a person to be lauded; for me, being voted ‘energy manager of the year’ is a tribute to and a distinction of my company and the entire team who have fully committed themselves to the task of making RheinEnergie fit for the future. Therefore, I am delighted to accept this award on behalf of the entire staff at RheinEnergie. I am glad to act as their representative, as no stage is spacious enough to accommodate 3,100 energy managers.”

Helmut Sendner, editor of the journal Energy & Management and the initiator of the award: “Dr Steinkamp does not brag about his achievements in public, but is recognised positively as a forward-thinking manager, leading the old energy sector into a solid future without radical changes.”

RheinEnergie is currently in charge of providing a region of 2.5 million people with energy, water and a wide-ranging services portfolio. Across Germany, it focuses in particular on the “services” sector for industrial and business clients.

Dieter Steinkamp (56) has been Chairman of the Executive Board of RheinEnergie since mid-2009. He started his career at RheinEnergie as head of sales in 2007. His contract, which expires in June 2017, has recently been renewed for another five years.

Dieter Steinkamp will be awarded the title in Cologne in January 2017. 

Past Winners of the Award

2015 – Dr Georg Müller, chairman of the executive board of MVV Energie AG, Mannheim

2014 – Michael Lucke, managing director of Allgäuer Überlandwerk GmbH

2013 – Heiko von Tschischwitz, founder and chairman of the management board of Hamburger LichtBlick SE

2012 – Johannes van Bergen, then chairman of the management board of the municipal utility company Stadtwerke Schwäbisch-Hall

2011 – Bernd Wilmert, then managing director of the municipal utility company Stadtwerke Bochum

2010 – Dr Constantin H. Alsheimer, chairman of the executive board of Mainova AG

2010 – Herbert Dombrowsky, then chairman of the management board of N-Ergie AG

2010 – Michael G. Feist, then chairman of the executive board of the municipal utility company Stadtwerke Hannover AG

2010 – Dr Thorsten Radensleben, chairman of the executive board of badenova AG

2009 – Dr Kurt Mühlhäuser, then chairman of the management board of the municipal utility company Stadtwerke München GmbH

2008 – Sven Becker, spokesperson of the management board of Trianel GmbH

2007 – Dr Hans-Bernd Menzel, then chairman of the executive board of EEX AG

2006 – Dr Werner Brinker, then chairman of the executive board of EWE AG

2005 – Dr Klaus Rauscher, then chairman of the executive board of Vattenfall Europe AG

2004 – Helmut Haumann, then chairman of the executive board of RheinEnergie AG

2003 – Dr Dieter Attig, then chairman of the executive board of Stawag AG

2002 – Dr Dieter Nagel, then chairman of the executive board of Thüga AG

2001 – Roland Hartung, then spokesperson of the board of directors of MVV Energie AG

The Awards Committee

Hans-Willy Bein – freelance journalist

Michael Ebling – president of the German Association of Local Utilities (VKU)

Prof. Dr Manfred Fischedick – vice-president of the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy

Michael Hegel – financial expert

Christian Held – partner at Becker Büttner Held

Stefan Kapferer – chairman of the general executive management board of the German Association of Energy and Water Industries (Bundesverband der Energie- und Wasserwirtschaft – BDEW)

Prof. Dr Claudia Kemfert – head of the energy department at the German Institute for Economic Research (Deutsches Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung – DIW)

Helmut Sendner – editor of the journal Energie & Management

Dr Christof Spangenberg – managing director of K.Group GmbH

The Award

The award was initiated by the journal Energie & Management and is co-sponsored by the law firm Becker Büttner Held and the business consultancy company K.Group. It has been presented for the sixteenth time in 2016. The assessment criteria encompass the overall leadership qualities, social competences as well as the sustainable business development.

In case of questions and for more information, please contact:
Energie & Management Verlagsgesellschaft mbH
Helmut Sendner
Phone: +49 (0) 81 52 / 93 11 11
Fax: +49 (0) 81 52 / 93 11 22
Email: h.sendner(at)emvg.de